:How To Install Android 4.4 KitKat Launcher On Any Jelly Bean Device:

How To Install Android 4.4 KitKat Launcher On Any Jelly Bean Device

Last year’s Nexus 4 was an awesome device that proved LG can definitely make goodlooking phones. This year’s Nexus 5 is no different, offering the best specs and the most svelte design a $350 phone has ever offered. But it’s not just the hardware where Nexus 5 really shines; the new Android 4.4 Kitkat that it ships with is every bit as impressive. We’ve already covered a summary of new features in Kitkat, so you might want to check that out as well. Those who’ve been eyeing on the latest version of Android would be aware about its new Google Experience Launcher. The search engine giant has kicked up another notch by presenting the best looking stock Android launcher yet. If you can’t wait to get your hands on it, we’ve got some good news for you. The launcher files have already been uploaded to the internet, and you grab them to try it on your own device running any version of Jelly Bean. Just follow our full guide to get it up and running.
It’s worth noting that Google Experience Launcher may not work on all phones, and you may face force close issues. In our own testing, the launcher didn’t face any problem whatsoever on the international variant of Galaxy S4, but your mileage may vary depending on your device. We advise that you create a backup before proceeding.

Requirements

  • A phone running Android 4.1, 4.2 or 4.3 Jelly Bean
  • Google Experience Launcher files. The archive contains:
    1. PreBuiltGmsCore.apk (Google Play Services 4.0)
    2. Velvet.apk (Google Search)
    3. GoogleHome.apk (Launcher)
Files Installation Launcher

Procedure

  1. Again, to be on the safe side we recommend that you create a backup first to avoid any issues
  2. Next up, download the ZIP fie provided in the link above and extract its contents to an easily accessible location. You can download the file to your PC and transfer them to your device, or you can download it straight to your Android device and extract the archive using any file extraction app.
  3. Now, install all three files available in that folder one by one by simply tapping on them, or sideloading them via ADB form your computer.
  4. Once done, simply press Home and select the new Launcher as default.
Google Experience Start IntroHome Screen App Drawer Settings
Note: If you face Google Search Force Close issue, just long-press the home screen in the new launcher, select Settings and then tap Voice. Select Language to change the default. You can change to any another language and then again back to your own language by following the same procedure

EnjOy..:)
Bugs Of Techn0l0gy

:Android 4.4 KitKat: A Summary Of New Features & Improvements:


Android 4.4 KitKat: A Summary Of New Features & Improvements

All the regular leaks and rumors have kept the Android community abuzz for the past few weeks, waiting for the next major update to Android. Well, Google announced Android 4.4 ‘KitKat’ some time ago, but they just formally detailed all the new features a few hours ago. In this article, we’ll be covering all the new changes you should expect when your device manufacturer ultimately rolls out Android 4.4 to your device.
Android-4.4-KitKat-new-features

All Recent Nexus Devices Except Galaxy Nexus Will Support Android 4.4

Most probably due to its weak chip, the Galaxy Nexus will not officially receive Android 4.4 from Google. However, one can expect the active developer to rise to the occasion, and launch custom ROMs built on top of KitKat. It’s a shame considering how Apple has been able to support the three-year-old iPhone 4, while Google isn’t able to support a phone released just a year and a half ago.
Nexus 10, Nexus 7 2012/2013, Nexus 4, Google Play Editions of HTC One and Galaxy S4 will get Android 4.4 soon. Google used the words, “in the coming weeks.”

“Ok Google”: Quick Access To Voice Commands

Remember the “always listening” Touchless Control feature in Moto X? Android 4.4 packs something quite similar but very limited in comparison. You can use the “Ok Google” voice command to gain quick access to Google Now actions, but only if you’re on the home screen or within Google Now. Also, it is currently only supported on the Nexus 5.

Project Svelte Drastically Reduces RAM Consumption For Low-End Devices

The single biggest reason why Android caught up and subsequently leapfrogged iOS in market-share is because of its ability to run on low-end smartphones and tablets. The experience of using Android on these devices is often drastically different than high and even mid-end devices, so Google has announced ‘Project Svelte’ as part of 4.4 KitKat, which makes some clever optimizations to reduce the amount of RAM Android apps use. Low-end devices will get the most out of this, but higher-end devices will see benefits in the form of improved multi-tasking and generally better performance.

Apps Can Now Natively Go Full-Screen

Full-screen-Android-4.4
The biggest advantage of using virtual buttons is that they can go away when you don’t need them, which gives you more screen space to enjoy games and videos. On Android 4.4 KitKat, it will be easy for developers to make their app take over the entirety of the screen. If you want to see the status bar or navigation bar again, swipe up or down (respectively) to see it momentarily. It is somewhat similar to how Notification Center and Control Center work on iOS.

Translucent Status & Navigation Bar

We’ve discussed tweaks to achieve this and ROMs that support this by default. From Android 4.4 onwards, both previously mentioned bars will be completely transparent, giving you a sense of extra space on your homescreen. Not a huge difference per se, but it’s a welcome one.

Smarter Phone App

Smarter-Phone-app-Android-4.4
Getting a call from an unknown number? The Phone app will automatically search for the number on Google in the background, and update it with the name of the restaurant, bank, or shop if found. This also works the other way: you can start typing the name of a nearby location on Google Maps and you’ll be presented with the phone number. Additionally, the app will remember who you call the most and show these contacts higher in the list when searching for them.

Hangouts Replaces Messaging App

Hangouts-and-SMS-combined-Android-4.4
After replacing the AOSP Camera app, Keyboard, Email, Browser etc. with its own proprietary solutions, Google has now replaced the terrible AOSP Messaging app with the latest version of Hangouts. As most of you already know, Hangouts now supports texting over SMS, and conversations over SMS or Google Hangouts are displayed seamlessly – it’s a long-awaited feature, but you should understand that it is another big step by Google to lock down Android by close-sourcing as many important parts of the system as possible.

Native Support For Printing

Android-4.4-KitKat-Print-feature
With Android 4.4, you will be able to connect to remote printers through Google Cloud Print and nearby printers over the same WiFi network to print the documents you carry with you on your device. This goes well with Google’s move to acquire Quickoffice.

Emoji In Google Keyboard

Emoji-in-Google-Keyboard
Though not that groundbreaking an addition, it is certainly one that has been deemed missing from the OS for a long time. Emoji will now be available everywhere, right from within the stock keyboard.

IR Blaster Support

Both HTC One and Galaxy S4 came with IR blasters for controlling your TV remotely, but the hardware didn’t work in Google Play editions of the same phones because of lack of software support. In Android 4.4, support for sending control signals over IR is built in.

Screen Recording

App reviewers and developers rely on screen capture tools to enhance the products of their labor, and there’s no better way to enhance app reviews and development than with recording a video of the screen. Previously, you had to rely on third-party apps, however, you can now record screen activity using Android 4.4 itself. It can be accessed over ADB, and we’ll show you how as soon as we get our hands on KitKat.

EnjOy..:)
Bugs Of Techn0l0gy

:Google announces 'KitKat' as next Android version as platform crosses 1 billion activations:

Google announces 'KitKat' as next Android version as platform crosses 1 billion activations



1
Share
Android KitKat statue

Hot on the heels of Apple's announcement of its Sept. 10 iPhone event, Google has revealed some major news of its own. Sundar Pichai, head of Chrome and Android, has announced that the Android 4.4 will officially be known as "KitKat." A landing page on the official Android website has confirmed KitKat as the "K" dessert, as well as the fact that the next version of Android will be 4.4 rather than 5.0.
To go along with its new dessert, Google has revealed that specially-wrapped KitKat bars with Android branding will soon begin appearing in stores. Buyers will have the chance to win a new Nexus 7 tablet or Google Play credit.
It's long been rumored that "Key Lime Pie" would be the nickname for the next major version of Android. That's part of the reason why this "KitKat" name comes as a surprise, with the other part being that Google has chosen a trademarked name to represent its new software. John Lagerling, Google's director of Android partnerships, has told BBC News that neither side is paying one another for the deal. Instead, Lagerling explainsthat the driving force behind the decision was to do something "fun and unexpected."
As for the "Key Lime Pie" name, it's said that Google's Android team had referred to the new software by that moniker internally. However, Lagerling says that because few people know what a key lime pie tastes like, Google decided to go in another direction. KitKats were suggested as a possibility because Google keeps them stocked in its kitchens for late night snacking, and 24 hours after making a cold call to Nestle in November 2012 to inquire about a partnership, a deal between the two companies was struck.

Unfortunately for Android fans hungry for more KitKat, there's no word yet on exactly what features the new OS will include. Google does promise on its landing page that its goal with KitKat is to "make an amazing Android experience available for everybody." Only El Goog knows for sure what that means, but it could suggest that the company plans to improve Android to work on lower-end hardware, both for entry-level devices and for products like smartwatches.
Pichai also announced today that Android has officially crossed the 1 billion device activation mark. This milestone comes around 3 1/2 months after the total number of activations hit 900 million.
EnjOy.. :)
Bugs Of Techn0l0gy..

:BBM for iOS and Android Release Date:

BBM for iOS Release Date

BlackBerry Messenger is close to becoming a cross-platform messaging service for the first time, but when will you be able to download the app on your Android and iOS devices? BlackBerry has been pretty quiet about launch dates up until now, but a new rumor claims BBM will hit Google Play this Friday, September 20, before landing on the App Store a day later.
Indonesian website TeknoUp has published an invite to a BBM launch event in Jakarta at 12 p.m. local time on Thursday, September 19. BlackBerry is expected to confirm at the event that BBM for Android and iOS will be available before the end of the week.
 We cannot confirm the invitation is genuine, and we’re yet to hear about similar events in the U.S. or Canada — but CrackBerry has also received some dates for BBM’s cross-platform launch, and they line up perfectly. Here’s what you can expect, then, according to CrackBerry:
  • Friday, Sept 20th, 7am EST: Android version published on Google Play
  • Friday, Sept 20th, 7am EST: BBM.com goes live
  • Friday, Sept 20th, 7am EST: CRM messages sent out to pre-registrants
  • Saturday, Sept 21th: BBM on iOS becomes available 12:01 am EST, Saturday Sept 21st in local time zones.
  • Saturday, Sept 20th, 7am EST: Follow-up CRM message sent out after full App Store deployment
We had suspected that BlackBerry might wait until after Apple has launched its new iPhones before launching BBM for Android and iOS, but clearly it’s not too concerned about the news being buried under iPhone reviews and related stories.
So, if you’re lucky enough to be picking up a new iPhone on Friday, it looks like you’ll be able to use BBM on it the following day

EnjOy..:)
Bugs Of Techn0l0gy

:How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device):

How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)

Android apps install to the internal storage by default. If you’ve ever seen your device complain that it is out of memory, especially when trying to install a new app, don’t feel too bad. You can also set the SD card as your default install location. This trick allows you to move almost any app to the SD card – no root access required. Enabling the moving app feature on your phone is much easier than how it may sound like. We shall take you through it step by step.
This tweak requires Android 2.2 or later. To change the default install location, you’ll need to use the ADB, or Android Debug Bridge, utility included with Google’s Android SDK. Following are the Step-by-step Instructions for moving All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device).

01 Move All Android Apps to SD Card Without Rooting Device How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
First of All Hit Like Buttons Shown Below.
1) Enable USB Debugging & Developer Options
The 1st step is to enable USB Debugging.In gingerbread it is placed in Settings> Applications > Development > USB Debugging. And ICS it is placed in Settings > Developer Options > USB Debugging. But, after upgrading it to 4.2 it is missing. If your are on Android 4.2 or higher The USB Debugging and Developer Options are hidden in latest Android 4.2 Jelly Bean. If we want to use those options, manually activate it.  Here is the guide to enable USB debugging on Android 4.2 Jelly Bean running mobiles and tablets.
Developer Options have many features for app developer to test an app on their device from PC via ADB.
  • Go to – Settings > About phone.
  •  Then move on to Build number option
  • Tap on Build number repeatedly about 7 times.
  •  This is enough.
  • After touching 7th time you will see a message that, “you are now a developer”.
02 Enable usb debugging Developer Options on Android 4.2 Jelly Bean How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
Now the option will be placed in Settings menu. Normally it placed under System in Settings menu. Then you can enable it in Developer Options and Android Debugging.
03 Enable usb debugging Developer Options on Android 4.2 Jelly Bean How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
2) Install the Android SDK
After Enabling USB Debugging You’ll need to download and install Google’s Android SDK on your computer. If you don’t already have Oracle’s Java JDK installed on your computer, you’ll have to download and install it before installing the Android SDK.
Note: You need only Android SDK for this so No need of Downloading Android SKD bundle just download SDK Tools Only.
04 nstall the Android SDK How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
After you’ve installed both the JDK and Android SDK, launch the SDK Manager from your Start menu.
05 nstall the Android SDK How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
The ADB utility isn’t installed by default. It’s included in the Android SDK Platform-tools package – select this package and click the Install button to download and install it.
06 nstall the Android SDK How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
After the process completes, connect your Android device to your computer with its included USB cable. Windows should locate the device and install the appropriate drivers automatically. If it doesn’t, you may have to download and install the appropriate drivers from your Android device’s manufacturer. Do not mount the device after connecting it – just plug it in.
3) Using ADB
Open a Windows Explorer window and navigate to the android-sdkplatform-tools folder. On Windows, you’ll find this folder at C:Program Files (x86)Androidandroid-sdkplatform-tools by default. Check C:Program FilesAndroidandroid-sdkplatform-tools if you’re using a 32-bit version of Windows.
07 Using ADB How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
Launch a Command Prompt window in this folder by pressing and holding the Shift button, right-clicking in the folder, and selecting Open command window here.
08 Using ADB How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
  • Run the adb shell command to enter ADB tools.
08 Using ADB1 650x331 How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
Command Code:
adb shell
  • Run pm get-install-location command to check the default install location which will be 0.
09 Using ADB 650x330 How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
Command Code:
pm get-install-location
  • Run pm set-install-location 2 command for setting default install location to SD card.
10 Using ADB 650x335 How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
Command Code:
pm set-install-location 2
0 [auto]: Let system decide the best location
1 [internal]: Install on internal device storage
2 [external]: Install on external media
  • Run pm get-install-location command again for conformation of location change.
11 Using ADB 650x331 How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
Command Code:
pm get-install-location

4) Moving Apps to SD Card
Apps that refused to leave your system storage can now be moved to the external storage. For instance, below you’ll see screenshots of the Google Maps app. Before the change was made, the Move to USB Storage button was grayed out. After the change was made, the button is enabled and the app can be moved.
12 Moving How to move All Android Apps to SD Card (Without Rooting Device)
Warning.!!
Some apps shouldn’t be installed to your SD card and should remain installed on the internal storage. The external storage is unavailable when your Android device is mounted on your computer, so apps that remain running all the time should be left on your internal storage. Widgets, launchers, animated wallpapers, and anything you want to use while your Android’s SD card is mounted on your computer should be left on the internal storage.

EnjOy..:)
Bugs Of Techn0l0gy

:How to Design an iPhone Music Player App Interface With Photoshop CS6:

How to Design an iPhone Music Player App Interface With Photoshop CS6

Tutorial Details
  • Apps Used: Adobe Photoshop CS6
  • Difficulty: Intermediate
  • Estimated Completion Time: 2 - 3 Hours

Final Product What You'll Be Creating

 
Download Source
 
 
Photoshop CS6 is a much more powerful vector editing application than its predecessors. In this tutorial, we will show you how to use these new features to create an iPhone music player app interface in both the original iPhone resolution, as well as retina without having to repeat the same process for both designs. Let’s get started!


Step 1

Create a new file. Set Width to 320px and Height to 480px.

Step 2

In this step we are going to create the background. There is a new easier way of creating vector shapes in Photoshop CS6 and we are going to use that method through out the whole tutorial.
Create a new group and name it “Background.” Select the Rectangle Tool (R) and in the Options Bar set the Tool Mode to Shape, then click on the button just next to it to choose the Shape Fill Type. From the list of fill types select the Gradient button. Set all the values the same as the values that are highlighted on the image below. Use the colors #3F4042 and #303133 for the gradient.
Click anywhere on the canvas. When the Create Rectangle window pops out, just click OK and make sure the dimensions are set to 700x700px. Name the newly created layer “Background.”
Press Cmd/Ctrl + A to select the whole canvas, select the Move Tool (V) and then in the Options Bar click on the Align Horizontal Centers and Align Bottom Edges Buttons.
Double click the layer thumbnail on the layer “Background” and make sure the Dither check-box is checked. This way you’ll get a smooth gradient without banding.

Step 3

Open statusbar.psd in Photoshop and import the Status Bar group to your working PSD. Use the method mentioned above to align the group “Status Bar” – Press Cmd/Ctrl + A to select the whole canvas and while using the Move Tool (V) click on the Align Horizontal Centers and Align Top Edges buttons.

Step 4

Create a new group below the group “Status Bar” and name it “Navigation Bar.” Select the Rounded Rectangle Tool (U) and set the properties as shown on the image below. Use #5F8F1D and #99B83D for the gradient. Click anywhere on the canvas and click OK when the Create Rounded Rectangle window pops out. Name the newly created layer “Nav Bg.”
Align the layer horizontally to the center and vertically just below the status bar as shown below.
Select the Rectangle Tool (U) and draw a rectangle shape similar to the one that is shown below, but make sure this shape covers just the bottom part of the layer “Nav Bg.” I used the No color option for the Shape Fill Type.
Using the Path Selection Tool (A) select the newly created shape. Press Cmd/Ctrl + C to copy the shape to the clipboard. Now select the layer “Nav Bg” in the Layers panel and hit Cmd/Ctrl + V. Now the shape is pasted onto the layer “Nav Bg.”
With the Path Selection Tool (A) still on, click the Path Operations button in the Options Bar and then select Subtract Front Shape.
Now click again on the Path Operations button and then select Merge Shape Components.
Using the Direct Selection Tool (A) select the two bottom points and move them until the height of the shape is 43px.
Apply the following layer style to the layer “Nav Bg”:

Step 5

Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool (U) draw a shape with the properties that are shown below. Use Solid Color for the Shape Fill Type. Name the newly created layer “Settings Bg.”
Apply the following layer style:
Move “Settings Bg” so its vertically aligned to the center of “Nav Bg” and horizontally 6px from the right edge of the canvas.
Open icons.psd and move the layer “Settings” to your PSD. Align the icon horizontally and vertically to the center of “Settings Bg.”
Apply the following layer style:

Step 6

Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool (U) draw a shape with the properties that are shown below. Use Solid Color for the Shape Fill Type. Name the newly created layer “Back Bg.”
Using the Add Anchor Point Tool add one anchor point on the left side of the rectangle and 14px below the top edge.
Using the Convert Point Tool click on the same anchor point.
Now select the Direct Selection Tool (A) and move the point 10px to the left.
With the Direct Selection Tool (A) still on select the two anchor points that are highlighted on the image below and move them 1px to the left. Then select the Convert Point Tool and click on each of the two anchor points.
Align the shape vertically to the center of “Nav Bg” and horizontally 6px from the left edge of the canvas.

Step 7

Now that we are finished with the drawing of the shape, we can add a style to it. Right click on the layer “Settings Bg” and select Copy Layer Style, then right click on the layer “Back Bg” and select Paste Layer Style.
Add text to the button using the parameters from the image below. I used the font Helvetica Neue. Align the text to the center of the shape and copy the layer style from the layer “Settings.”
Add title text using the parameters from the image below and align it to the center of the navigation bar.

Step 8

Create a new group below the group “Navigation Bar” and name it “Position.” Select the Rectangle Tool (U) and set the properties as shown on the image below, then click somewhere on the canvas. Use #2E2F30 and #494A4C for the gradient. Name the layer “Position Bg.”
Place the shape below the Navigation Bar, but make sure there is one-pixel gap between them. Align the shape horizontally to the center of the canvas.
Apply the following layer style to the shape:

Step 9

Select the Rounded Rectangle Tool (U) and set the properties as shown on the image below, then click somewhere on the canvas. Set the Radius to some higher value. I used 50px.
Name the layer “Position Empty” and align it, both horizontally and vertically, to the center of the layer “Position Bg.”
Apply the following layer style:
Select the Rounded Rectangle Tool (U) and set the properties as shown on the image below, then click somewhere on the canvas. Use #85AD2A, #A0D028 and #B6D028 for the gradient. Again, set the Radius to some higher value. Name this layer “Position Full.”
Align the shape as its shown on the image below, but make sure there is a two-pixel gap on all sides between the shape and the layer “Position Empty.”
Apply the following layer style to the shape:

Step 10

Select the Ellipse Tool (U) and set the properties as shown on the image below, then click somewhere on the canvas. Use #444547 and #5C5E61 for the gradient. Name this layer “Handle.”
Align this shape so it covers the right edge of the layer “Position Full.”
Apply the following layer style:
Select again the Ellipse Tool (U) and set the properties as shown on the image below, then click somewhere on the canvas. Use #636669 and #38393B for the gradient. Name this layer “Handle Circle.”
Align the shape to the center of the layer “Handle.”
Add text for the time. Use Helvetica Neue, Bold. The size is 10pt and the color #B2B2B2. Align the text as shown on the image below.

Step 11

Create a new group and name it “Playback Controls.” Using the Ellipse Tool (U) draw a circle with dimensions 50x50px. Don’t pay attention to the other parameters. Name the new layer “Play Bg.”
Expand the group “Position”, right-click the layer “Handle” and select Copy Shape Attributes from the menu.
Go back to the group “Playback Controls”, right-click on the layer “Play Bg” and select Paste Shape Attributes from the menu. This is a new feature in Photoshop CS6. This way instead of setting up all the attributes for Shape Fill Type, like gradient colors, angle etc. we are copying those attributes from the layer “Handle”, since we are using the same values for the newly created layer.
Align the layer horizontally to the center of the canvas and vertically 20px below “Position Bg.”
Apply the following layer style:

Step 12

Right-click the layer “Play Bg” and select Duplicate Layer. Name the new layer “Fast Backward Bg.”
Using the Path Selection Tool (A) click on the layer “Fast Backward Bg” and change the dimensions in the Options Bar to 34x34px.
Align the layer vertically to the center of “Play Bg” and horizontally 8px to the left.
Duplicate “Fast Backward Bg” and name the new layer “Fast Forward Bg.” Align the layer the same as the previous one, but this time on the right side.

Step 13

Create a new circle shape with the parameters from the image below. Use #46484A and #2C2D2E for the gradient. Make sure the newly created layer is below all the other layers in the group “Playback Controls.”
Name the layer “Playback Bg” and align it both horizontally and vertically to the center of “Play Bg”
Duplicate “Playback Bg” and reduce the size to 48x48px, using the method that we used in Step 12. Align the layer to the center of “Fast Backward Bg.”
Now duplicate the layer again and align it to the center of “Fast Forward Bg.”
Import the layers “Fast Backward”, “Play” and “Fast Forward” from icons.psd. Align the icons as shown on the image below.
Select the three icon layers by holding Cmd/Ctrl on the keyboard and clicking on each layer accordingly. Set the opacity to 85%.
Import the layers “Speaker” and “Repeat” from icons.psd. Align the icons as shown below.
The imported icons are filled with solid color, but we are going to apply a gradient to them. Using the Path Selection Tool (A) select the layer “Speaker” and set the parameters from the image below. Use the colors #6B6C70 and #797B80 for the gradient.
Copy the attributes from the speaker icon with the Copy Shape Attributes option and paste them to the repeat icon.
Apply the following layer style to the speaker and repeat icons:

Step 14

In this step we are going to place the album covers in our design. After the importing we are going to convert them to smart objects and reduce the size of the smart objects by 50%. We are doing this because in the final tutorial step the file will be resized to the retina resolution. This way we won’t lose the quality of the raster images after resizing to retina.
Open albumcover-02.jpg and import the image to your PSD.
Convert the layer to smart object by going to Layer > Smart Objects > Convert to Smart Object. Press Cmd/Ctrl + T on the keyboard to transform the layer. Reduce the size to 50%. Name this layer “Album Cover Center.”
Align the layer horizontally to the center of the canvas and vertically 20px below the layer “Play Bg.”
Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool (U) draw a shape with the parameters shown below. Set the size to 180x180px. Use No Color for the Shape Fill Type and set the radius to 3px.
Align the shape exactly on top of the album cover image.
Now apply the shape to the album cover image by dragging the mouse cursor from the thumbnail of the rounded rectangle layer to the thumbnail of the layer “Album Cover Center”, while holding the Cmd/Ctrl + Alt keys on your keyboard. After you are done with the copying, delete the layer with the rounded rectangle, since we don’t need it anymore.

Step 15

Open albumcover-01.jpg and import the image to your PSD, convert it to smart object and resize to 50%. Align the cover vertically to the center of the layer “Album Cover Center” and horizontally 40px to the left. Name the layer “Album Cover Left.”
Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool (U) draw a shape with the parameters shown below. This time set the size to 160x160px. Use No Color for the Shape Fill Type and set the radius to 3px.
Copy the rounded rectangle shape to the layer “Album Cover Left” using the same method for the center cover. After you are done, delete the layer with the rounded rectangle.
Open albumcover-03.jpg and import it to your PSD. Repeat the same procedure that we used for the left cover, but this time align the image on the right side as shown below.

Step 16

Apply the following layer style to the center cover:
Copy the layer style from the center cover and paste it to the other two covers. Now select both the left and right cover layers and set the Fill to 50%.
Insert a text for the playing song title. Place it few pixels below the center cover.
Insert another line of text for the playing song author. Align both lines to the center.

Step 18

Using the Rectangle Tool (U) draw a shape with the parameters shown below. Use #292A2B and #38393B for the gradient.
Align the shape to the bottom left corner of the canvas.
Using the Add Anchor Point Tool add two anchor points and set the distances as shown on the image.
Select the two anchor points that are highlighted on the image and move them 6px upwards.
Using the Direct Selection Tool (A) drag the direction lines so they look similar to the ones that are previewed below.

Step 19

In this step we’ll complete the tab bar background by duplicating and mirroring the path that we created in the previous step.
Duplicate the layer and flip it horizontally by going to Edit > Transform Path > Flip Horizontal.
Move the duplicated layer exactly to the bottom right corner of the canvas. One important notice: Make sure that there is no gap between the two shapes.
Now select both layers as shown on the image, right-click and select Merge Shapes.
This should be the resulting shape. As you can see there is a vertical line in the middle of the shape. This means that we have two shapes in one layer which are not fully merged.
Using the Path Selection Tool (A) click on the shape layer, click on the Path Operations button in the Options Bar and select Merge Shape Components. Now you have the two shapes fully merged. Name this layer “Tab Bar Bg.”
If we select the Direct Selection (A) we’ll notice that there are some unnecessary anchor points that were created during the merging of the shapes. Always try to keep your paths clean of unneeded points.
In order to delete these anchor points select the Delete Anchor Point Tool and click on the two anchor points respectively.
Apply the following layer style to “Tab Bar Bg”:

Step 20

In this step we’ll create guides which will help us align the tab bar icons more easily.
Using the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) make a 60px wide selection starting from the left side of the canvas.
Now drag a guide from the left ruler and place it on the right edge of the selection. Make sure that the option for snapping to guides is turned on. You can find this by going to View > Snap To > Guides.
Repeat the previous procedure to place the other guides. Set the distances as shown on the image below.
Drag two horizontal guides from the top ruler and set the distances as shown on the image.

Step 21

Drag the layer “Home” from the icons.psd file.
Using the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) make a selection that snaps to the guides like the ones below.
Using the Move Tool (V) click on the Align Vertical Centers and Align Horizontal Centers buttons in the Options Bar.
Type the text “Home” with the following parameters:
Align the text vertically near the bottom guide and horizontally to the center of the icon.

Step 22

Repeat Step 21 for the other icons and text (Favorites, Playlists and Search). Use the image below for reference.

Step 23

Using the Rectangle Tool (U) draw a shape with the parameters from the image below. Use #5F8F1D and #99B83D for the gradient.
Align the shape so its top edge is touching the upper horizontal guide and horizontally to the center of the tab bar. Name the layer “Now Playing Bg.”
Apply the following layer style:
Drag the layer “Now Playing” from the icons.psd file and change the fill color of the layer to #000000.
Apply the following layer style:
Align the icon horizontally to the center of “Now Playing Bg” and vertically few pixels below its top edge.
Type the text “Now Playing” with the following parameters:
Align the text again horizontally to the center of the button and vertically few pixels below the icon. Copy the layer style from the Now Playing icon.

Step 24

We are finished with the creation of all the elements of the design. But we have one final step left, and that is scaling the file to retina.
Scaling to the retina resolution is very easy and it only takes one step. Go to Image > Image Size and set the values as shown below. Make sure that all of the highlighted parameters are set exactly the same as on the image.
This should be the result after resizing the image to the retina resolution.
Tip:Always try to draw the elements in your designs with vector shapes, just as we did in this tutorial. That way you can easily customize them and you won’t lose on quality when scaling to retina.

Conclusion

In this tutorial, we have shown you how to create an iPhone application interface in Photoshop using its new vector editing capabilities. In addition, we have shown how you can use these techniques to create an iPhone application that is compatible with the original resolution device as well as its retina resolution counterpart.

EnjOy..:)
MamoOn..

Blog Archive